1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

intro + stuck treating TMS due to fear of injury relapse

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Mash, Dec 23, 2021.

1. Mash

Mash Newcomer

[Originally posted this question in the wrong subforum by accident--sorry!]

Hi all! I'm an artist in my late 20s. About nine months ago, I began a project that involved 8-12 hours of detailed painting per day for weeks. The repetitive process gave me debilitating injuries in both hands--so severe that I had to end work and couldn't feed or dress myself without extreme pain, let alone continue my livelihood. I feared I'd never regain use of my hands.

After months of rest and occupational therapy to rebuild strength, I've thankfully regained most of my ability. However, I still experience somewhat random flare-ups of pain, specifically when making art or using digital devices for extended periods of time. I believe TMS describes my current situation, and I've noticed that many of the exercises to target neuroplastic pain work for me. I've begun to successfully accomplish more and more with minimal discomfort.

One thing still holds me back: the fear of genuine relapse. I do believe I had a structural injury months ago, and although I'll never take on such a large workload again, I'm terrified of re-injuring myself. What if by combatting TMS, I begin to ignore pain signals that actually warn of structural injury?