1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Intersection & De Quervain’s Tendonitis. Is every RSI TMS or only *sometimes*? so confused..

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by wastinglight, Sep 7, 2018.

1. wastinglight

wastinglight New Member

Hello!

I’m a 20 year old male beyond frustrated with his hands.

i’m a guitar player in a punk rock band, and about 2 months ago, i developed an intense, stabbing pain in my left (strumming) forearem, a few days after a fairly intensive rehearsal. the pain sat mostly on the dorsal side, a few inches below the thumb/wrist. i went to the doctor and was diagnosed with Intersection Syndrome, an inflammation of two tendons that intersect in the arm, and given a brace to wear and instructed to ice and rest. i still have a knot-like swelling in the same location.

By day I worked as a cook, and so when i began to use my right hand to compensate, i developed sore, aching in that hand. mostly in the thumb and inside wrist. this was diagnosed as De Quervain’s tendonitis.

so now i’ve got two hands that are constantly in pain and i don’t know what to do. i can’t play any longer than 5 minutes without making my hands worse. this is driving me crazy. i just want to get back to performing and writing. the band is at a total standstill and i can’t even offer them any answers.

to make matters worse, i’ve been planning on going to school to acquire my Barber liscence, as it’s a career i’ve long dreamed of. but now that’s been totally put on hold too with these stupid injuries. can’t really cut hair with faulty hands. my biggest fear is that i will have to give up my music and career pursuits because of this

i ended up quitting my job. but my hands still hurt on a daily basis. and i do a terrible job of resting them (but it’s kind of hard to not use your hands at least a little bit during the course of the day!)