1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 I'm new to this

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Delia, Jun 15, 2021.

1. Delia

Delia Newcomer

So I'm on day 1 of the educational programme. I hope I can make it through to the end of the course as it feels like this is my last hope of resolving my issues.
    I have only recently learned of Dr Sarno's work on TMS and at first I was sceptical. I live in the UK, so naturally I immediately searched for advice around TMS on our National Health Service website - there was nothing to be found. I started looking for articles on the internet. I found a self assessment toolkit which I completed to determine if it was likely I was suffering with TMS - it indicated that 'I've got it'.
    Like others, I've had my problems for many years - in my case 13 years, but recently it's become worse. It started as left ankle pain, spreading to my left calf, and left foot, then my knee and the back of my thigh and now lower back. I've been referred to Consultants across many specialities - ortho, gynae, vascular; I've had various pain medications, I've seen physios, I've tried massage, acupuncture, better nutrition, exercise, stretches, injections, pain clinics and counselling. The scans and x-rays I've had showed a double crack in a lower spinal bone which seems to be causing a slight misalignment of my spine which is causing a herniated disc which the surgeon thinks is pressing on my sciatic nerve - thus causing the pain but they're not certain. They offered spinal fusion surgery to correct it but they said the surgery may not resolved the pain so I declined it. I have another surgeon saying they think it might be endometriosis which could be pressing on my sciatic nerve - again this isn't certain.