1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

I think I may have TMS

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by huskarl, May 25, 2014.

1. huskarl

huskarl New Member

It started about a year ago. I graduated from a rigorous college program, and about a week after graduation I developed pain in both my wrists and forearms. I initially attributed it to a repetitive strain injury, as it first came on while I was using the computer intensely (playing a game). I wore arm braces suggested by the doctor, but they did little to resolve the pain. I tried to forget about the pain and do different workouts in the gym, and the pain gradually subsided. About six months after the onset of the arm pain, I developed debilitating pain in my chest near my sternum and surrounding rib cartilage. I would wake up fine, but it would get excruciatingly bad by the end of the day, to the point where the only thing I looked forward to was getting to go to sleep. That persisted for a month or so before regressing again. I still get occasional pain in my wrists and chest, but not as badly as when the pain first appeared, and the pain is not typically chronic as it used to be. About a month or so after the chest pain improved, I developed great pain in my knees. I thought the pain was caused from injury, as I had been rigorously twisting for a long time when the pain came on. I went to the doctor and he couldn't detect any ligament damage. My knees still trouble me quite a bit. When I wake up, they feel very tight like they're inflamed, but I don't notice any swelling. Sometimes I get jolts of pain (pins and needles type) around my kneecap when I'm walking or sitting. The pain seems to be much worse when wearing pants that rub against my kneecap for some reason. It's strange because I'm not limited at all in my range of motion, and I seem to be able to run and jump wit