1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 6 I just want to draw again

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Sacha O., May 13, 2016.

1. Sacha O.

Sacha O. Peer Supporter

Today I’m supposed to write about some of my fears. It’s the first time I’m posting on the forum so I think I will have a lot to write about :)

But first I want to apologize for my English, my first language is French !

I’m scared I will be in pain forever, but more importantly that I will never be able to draw like I used to (I’m a comic book artist and an illustrator). I don’t understand my pain, how it change place, how it comes and go… I love my job, it brings me joy. I don’t want to let it go. My editor has the same problems : back, arms, and wrists pain. He can’t draw anymore. He told me that maybe our bodies weren’t made for this job. It depressed me a lot. I’m only 24, I still have a lot I want to do. Now I think he may have TMS too. He’s always under a lot of stress, and never talks about it. He always want to do a perfect job, and never complains. I actually know a lot of artist who are in pain for a long time. When I started to work as a comic book artist, I feared I would also hurt myself by « drawing too much »… And now, it happened.

I’m scared I’m never going to make enough money to live while doing what I love. My mother is pretty stressed to see I don’t have a « real » job. I’m presently studying in Sexology, because I would really like to work in that field, but also because I don’t want my parents to worry to much about me.