1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

I could use some advice/encouragement

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Msunn, Nov 25, 2013.

1. Msunn

Msunn Well known member

This is a bit of a long rambling post, but I feel like I'm in a safe place to ramble!

As some of you know I’m a guitarist and a play a solo guitar gig 2 nights a week 4 1/2 hours. I do this on average 3 out of every 4 weeks at this point. I have RSI problems with my hands.

I’ve definitely seen progress since accepting the TMS diagnosis, so I’ve been gradually increasing normal activities with my hands, home improvement projects, stacking firewood, recording in my studio etc.

I did a good amount of those activities last week and had a harder time playing this past weekend. In typical TMS fashion the problems I had were with my right hand/arm where as before the majority of symptoms have been with the left hand.

I guess where I’m a little stuck is that I have fear that if I “overdo it” the TMS symptoms will resurface and prevent me from continuing to work. If you were in my position would you back off of other activities or keep increasing normal use of the hands?

The second area where I’m having a problem is in accepting that this is 100% TMS.

I guess the most convincing argument in the other direction is that I’m 61 I’ve been playing guitar daily for almost 49 years and it seems logical that as I’m getting older my hands have been used a lot, and I may just not be able to do what I used to do guitar playing wise. I know that is true in other areas of my life!!