1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

How to "uncondition" myself?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Tom Bultman, May 14, 2013.

1. Tom Bultman

Tom Bultman New Member

As I have worked through the educational program I have come to realize that I think I expect pain when I do various sorts of things. I still do many of them because I want to and because the pain is low to mid level and chronic. I've conditioned myself to expect pain. How do I undo that process?

2. gailnyc

gailnyc Well known member

Tom, I am not an expert at this, in fact I struggle with conditioning myself. I think the first thing to do is to recognize that it is conditioning (you've done this! congrats!). The next thing to do is to remind yourself, as you go into the situation, that you are experiencing pain only because you expect to.

If it's at all possible, you might try doing whatever it is that you've become conditioned to for a very brief amount of time, telling yourself it's TMS all the time. Then build up slowly as you become deconditioned.