1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

How to meditate - need a tutorial

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by TG957, May 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. TG957

TG957 Beloved Grand Eagle

I think I am quite introspective. Nevertheless, I am not good at meditation. I find sitting meditations sooo difficult. I convinced myself that a good hike or qi gong or yoga are a great replacement for meditation, but my TMS eradication process has been disappointingly slow (yes, I know, Steve Ozanich spent 15 month, but my 2.5 months seem like eternity), so I started thinking maybe I need to really learn how to meditate the way the gurus do. Maybe it is my untamed anxiety that keeps me from meditating properly?

Any advice, good people of TMS forum?

2. ajayddave

ajayddave Peer Supporter

3. TG957

4. mike2014

mike2014 Beloved Grand Eagle

Those are some great meditations, but I'd highly recommend reading this article to understand the concept of meditation...

Mindfulness for Dummies: Shamash Alidina
    By Elisha Goldstein, Ph.D.
    ~ 9 min read
    Today, it’s my pleasure to bring to you the author ofMindfulness For Dummies[​IMG], Shamash Alidina. Shamash is a lecturer, educator and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) and a Mindfulness-Based Cognitive (MBCT) teacher in London. He also runs the Learn Mindfulness Community.

Today Shamash gives us mindfulness tips for beginners and long time practitioners, the intersection with positive psychology, how to regain the wonder of life and how to balance work and life.

[​IMG]
    So without further ado…