1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

How can I work full time and recover???

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by stayfit65, Oct 25, 2019.

1. stayfit65

stayfit65 Peer Supporter

I have been on this site for about 6 years. Today may have been the worst back pain I’ve experienced since 2011 when I first noticed it. I am a full- time employee which requires me to sit at a desk in an office all day. I’m also a part-time fitness instructor and have been for 34 years. I see people talking about meditating for hours/days and spending lots of “quiet time.” I don’t have the financial luxury of just not working for a while. Plus I actually like my job! My question is directed to anyone who has been able to work full-time and still was able to beat this pain.

Please, no judging... I am about ready to talk to a spine doctor. I cried off and on all morning due to the burning pain...I’ve done all the books, programs, etc. Can anyone help? Again, please don’t judge me...I’m suffering enough.

2. JanAtheCPA

JanAtheCPA Beloved Grand Eagle

Can you remind us what emotional work or programs you've completed?

3. 49C2

49C2 New Member

I understand this completely. I'm only on day 10 of the SEP, but I was cleared to return to work this past Monday. I realize I'm a rookie at this, but the pain makes it hard to concentrate on almost anything. I'm trying to "live with" the pain and understand that it's just a sensation, but it is so hard.

4. JanAtheCPA

JanAtheCPA Beloved Grand Eagle

What really helped me was first understanding and accepting the truth of the repression mechanism, and then learning that our brains are actually wired to keep us in a constant state of fear, always looking out for danger.