1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Hopeful

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by 49C2, Oct 17, 2019.

1. 49C2

49C2 New Member

Well, never thought I'd be here. I am a medical professional (paramedic) for 27 years. Suffered a back injury in April and like most here I have seen so many doctors, chiropractors, and physical therapists. I have had 9 MRI's of different body parts since June and the only thing showing is an old (2006) L5 herniated disk and a new annular tear of the same disk.

Luckily for me every surgeon that I have consulted with has said "you don't need surgery and you'll be fine." My question for each of them is WHEN?!?!?

My back pain started in April after doing some firefighter training. The initial doctor ordered PT for 6 weeks. About 2 weeks in I began having pain in my butt, my hip and the top of my pelvis which caused my left leg to rotate outward. I should note I am a very active person. I have 2 young children and my wife and I are avid runners. We were training for a 1/2 marathon when my symptoms first started.

To shorten this up a bit, I am feeling better today than I did a month ago. The doctors have said I should go back to work because I have nothing structural that they can see. I am still in a lot of pain, but I'm going to give it a try.

I read Dr. Sarno's Mind Over Back Pain and I started The Divided Mind last night. I have read everything about believing and accepting. I am still having a bit of trouble with the accepting part which is why I am here trying to work on it. I fully believe this program has helped thousands of people, I need to accept that it can help me. This is hard as a person in the medical field who has had no dealings ever with mindbody treatment or even any psychological experience.