1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 10 Hiding Emotions From Friends

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by gray118, Mar 25, 2021.

1. gray118

gray118 New Member

Think of a person in your life from whom you hide your emotions. What is preventing you from telling this person how you feel?

One of the biggest aspects of my life that my TMS pain has affected are my friendships. Looking back, my pain started after I graduated college and moved to a new city with only a few friends. It was extremely hard and now looking back I think I was really depressed. College was one of the best times of my life, I felt in tune with myself, had pretty good self esteem, and was surrounding by loving friends that literally lived in the same apartment complex as me. Living in a new town with only a couple other friends was tough, I don't think I realized how lonely I was in this time. Being thrown into the real world after being surrounded by close friends and the distraction of school was extremely difficult. I also was extremely overwhelmed by the tasks of the "real world," going to the grocery store, having a job, paying rent etc. My heart was hurting and longing for the past and I never really accepted that until now. I missed my friends so much, I missed partying and going on adventures and learning new things everyday. To make things worse, I tried to fill this hole with boyfriends that ended up hurting me in one way or another. As my pain got worse and I became more "handicapped" my friendships seemed to crumble. I didn't want to burden them with the fact that I was i