1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Helping a friend

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Lauren.R89, Jun 17, 2019.

1. Lauren.R89

Lauren.R89 Peer Supporter

I have a friend that has been undergoing THOUSANDS of dollars worth of treatment for TMJ and jaw issues and is still having symptoms (like 25k+ worth of out of pocket treatment for ONE dentist). She's getting into the space where random rare syndromes are being thrown at her (Eagles syndrome) which I understand to be because of a structural abnormality - though I'm not a doctor, I know these abnormalities don't have to cause pain (open to more info from someone that's heard of this disorder - don't google it, i made that mistake lol. I tend to get the symptoms I google about). I want her to feel the freedom that this work and community has to offer. If anyone has ideas about how to gently suggest or bring a friend into information about this work, I'd love ideas. Thank you so much! It's heartbreaking to watch someone struggle from doctor to doctor.

2. JanAtheCPA

JanAtheCPA Beloved Grand Eagle

Heartbreaking, indeed! And I am too familiar with the desire to not "force" my beliefs on others, especially if it's someone who knows what I believe and what I've experienced, but continues to go to doctors seeking a diagnosis for their own issues.

It's really difficult when you've got a person who is convinced that their problem is unique, and even harder if their symptom is not clearly addressed in an easy-to-access resource such as one of Dr. Sarno's books.