1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 4 Hello

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by phizzy56, Mar 11, 2015.

1. phizzy56

phizzy56 New Member

I just want to put some words down that might be read by people who understand what I'm going through.

Even as kid I experienced what I now realize is TMS, although it was infrequent and usually fairly mild. My first serious TMS occurrence happened at age 20. I had lost a football scholarship at a small school due to dumb mistakes and had to return home to attend community college. I began having intense chest pains and I believed I was going to die at any moment. I went to a doctor who did multiple tests and told me I was perfectly fine, and the chest pains vanished almost immediately.

I was relatively fine for the next several years. I graduated university and moved to Asia, where I still currently live and work as a teacher. I fell in love, got engaged and in the months before my wedding those chest pains I had once forgot about came back. I saw a doctor who told me I was fine, but not until the wedding was over (literally the next day) did the pains stop.

About a year ago my wife and I decided to move to a new city. It was going to be a big move for us but we were excited. Soon I developed leg pains. My legs would turn ice cold and I would cramp up constantly. I didn't know what was going on, it was terrifying! I went to see a doctor who suggested I have an MRI on my back. I didn't have any back pain but he believed this was my problem. Sure enough, the MRI revealed a bulging disk and some degeneration. What do you think happened next? My lower back hurt! We had to put off moving.