1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Derek S. Going through hell

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Aug 29, 2014.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    Hello, I am going through Hell. I am 44 years old and I am living like an old man waiting to die. I am obsessed with the idea that various things I like to eat are going to harm me, although my diet is probably healthier than it has ever been. I do have chronic pain, especially in a shoulder where I suffered a workplace injury (and, ironically, one week ago, I injured my other shoulder, also in a workplace accident). I am a musician, but I barely play anymore because of pains in my hands and wrists - as well as the fear that playing an instrument might initiate said pain. I can barely clean my apartment. My most recent health obsession concerns a horrible cough that started a week and a half ago. I was 1st diagnosed with a virus; then with allergies, and advised to take Claritin; and then with an infection and put on antibiotics, which I just finished today. The cough has finally - today - subsided somewhat. I am a singer, and I was so concerned the cough had damaged my voice I went to a new ENT today, who endoscoped my nasal/throat passages and told me he didn't see anything. Awhile after I left his office, however, I started developing a horrible post-nasal drip , about which I worried - is it an infection? is it the cup of soda I drank after I got back to work? - until he finally returned my call and told me this was normal, due to the tube down my nose/throat and the anesthetic wearing off, or something like that. The point is, I HAD to talk to him, or I would have spent the entire Labor Day weekend stressed out over what this was. (It's largely gone now, though not entir