1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Go Back on Meds?

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Boston Redsox, Jul 27, 2015.

1. Boston Redsox

Boston Redsox Well Known Member

I need your asst on this one I have been off my meds since April I have been doing the work ( not everyday) mediating every morning and just over all excepting myself as I am at this moment.
    I on my 2 nd run of the SEP seeing a Therpist 2 a month . I have been trying to reconnect with my wife with the realization that I can't and won't change her.

With this all said my pain in my feet and hands have reach a new high and I can't operate . Meaning I can't work . So my question is do I take the meds to relief my self or fight threw this next door of healing?

Markus likes this.
  2. BruceMC

BruceMC Beloved Grand Eagle

Of course, I'm not a doctor, but if I were you, I'd take the meds just to create a window of opportunity where you can do the fundamental brain work of TMS recovery without the pain to obsess about and distract you, especially if it's so intense that it demands preoccupation. What does you therapist say? I'd ask and collaborate with him/her.

Markus likes this.
  3. Tennis Tom

Tennis Tom Beloved Grand Eagle

Agree with BruceMC, if you're in such pain, anxiety or adrenal overload that you can't function, that's a good reason to take meds, so you can return to functioning in the daily grind and calm down enough to do the TMS work. I'm assuming you're working with a TMS practitioner, if so I would follow their advice, otherwise why spend the time and money.

G'luck!

4. Orion2012

Orion2012 Well known member

I agree with the 'window of opportunity' idea expressed by Bruce above, based on my own experience.