1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Fully accepting TMS

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by chrisami, Feb 20, 2014.

1. chrisami

chrisami New Member

Hello all,

I am new to this, and find today I could really do with a little support and advice.

I have RSI in my hand, and before discovering Dr. Sarno's "The Mindbody Prescription", I had tried several physical therapies. The only one that really worked (at least temporarily) was massage. I had been seeing an osetopath in parallel who had tried everything to fix my RSI, but eventually gave up by saying he "can't find anything wrong".

My massage therapist was also not sure of the cause of my symptoms except for vague comments about tight muscles, until he found that my hand had developed tight, thick, fascia beneath the skin on my palm!
    At the time I was very relieved someone had finally found something, and was hoping that we can target this tight fascia and the RSI would be fixed!
    However I have had the fascia treated several times, and treat it myself through massage that the therapist taught me, and while symptoms did reduce quite a lot, they did not go completely.

The theory of tight fascia, or fascial restrictions, and the practice of myofascial release as the treatment for many chronic pain conditions is also quite controversial, and not yet fully accepted by mainstream medicine ~ (sadly) just like the TMS, mindbody theories of Dr. Sarno.

While I strongly believe that my symptoms are caused by TMS, the fact that I have this very noticeable physical manifestation of tight, thick, fascia (I can literally feel it) on my RSI hand, but not on my healthy hand, occasionally means I have niggling doubts.