1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

First post - Fresh pain

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Evan, Apr 16, 2014.

1. Evan

Evan New Member

Hi all,

I am new to TMS and to this website. I searched for a thread that related closely to my symptoms/situation, but could not find anyone with exactly what’s been going on with me.

I'll try to do a quick history. Relative to many of you, I found Dr. Sarno's book "Healing Back Pain" fairly soon after my injury. 7 months ago, I was playing hockey with a rib out of place. I simply stretched for a puck and felt a "click". I was layed up and could not walk for nearly a week with severe pain in my lower back that made normal motion impossible. Easily the worst pain I’ve ever felt. Fast forward through the next 7 months, it got better and worse again while seeing 6+ different Dr's (chiropractors, orthopedic surgeons, acupuncturist). I had an MRI done in December that showed a herniated L5/S1. Which all the Dr's obviously pointed to as the cause of my pain and Sciatica. I was not a great candidate for surgery (thankfully!) as my pain was mostly in my lower back and not ONLY in my legs (which I did/do have Sciatica down my right leg into my calf).