1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Feeling safe

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by Renee, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Renee

Renee Well known member

It seems like no matter what I do I will no longer feel safe in this world. And that seems to be the thing through meditation, etc., that you need to feel to recover from TMS. I am only on Day 5 so I am new to all this, but am feeling very discouraged.

I cannot afford to go to a TMS therapist, I've already spent so much money on dealing with pelvic pain since a child, neck pain since last year, and numerous other TMS symptoms throughout my life. I once had a therapist tell me that if I could get my anxiety under control everything would fall into place and I agree. I've just read Claire Weeks book which I liked. She tells you how to address the panic but not the fear. When you are at work walking across the way to another building and you have an attack so bad that you feel you will collapse, how do you let that just happen? I don't know what I look like, but I feel like I look like I am drunk. How do you conquer the fear of looking like a freak in front of your co-workers???

2. SunnyinFL

SunnyinFL Well known member

Dear Renee,

It can be very discouraging to deal with continuing pain - many of us can relate to that feeling. Please know you are not alone and that many of us have gone from that state of discouragement and found hope and are recovering. Also, please know that feeling discouraged is normal - try to understand that and let yourself just feel it.

There are also paths forward. Have you started the SEP? It is on this Web site and free. It's very helpful and I highly recommend it. And, the community of support on this wiki is also free - please keep reaching out and using it.