1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Derek S. Feeling my feelings

Discussion in 'Ask a TMS Therapist' started by Guest, Sep 24, 2015.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

This question was submitted via our Ask a TMS Therapist program. To submit your question, click here.

Question
    I just recently read The Mindbody Prescripion and I identify strongly with the TMS diagnosis. About 2 years ago I quit drinking and around the same time I started experiencing tendonitis type symptoms in my arms and hands. I play drums for a living so this was quite concerning. Fast forward 2 years and I've tried many different types of physical treatments with little to no lasting relief. My dad died when I was young and I can see how the emotions from that event set off a chain reaction of wanting to be liked, worrying about loss, repressed emotions etc. I've been meditating and journaling a lot since reading Sarno's book, I've signed up for therapy to help process these things that I'm realizing I never dealt with. I never grieved for the loss of my dad, I just became angry. I understand that my analytical mind is part of the problem and I want to make sure I don't approach this in a way that continues my repression. I'm trying to feel my feelings more on a day to day basis but it's hard. How do I feel things from so long ago? How do I unlock those emotions so I can stop repressing them? How do I feel my feelings when something or somebody in te present angers or hurts me? Our society is so anti-emotion, it's hard to know the best way to express emotion instead of holding it in.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2015
  2. Derek Sapico MFT

Derek Sapico MFT TMS Therapist

Answer
    Thanks for your question.

First of all, I want to commend you for contacting a therapist. This should not go unmentioned because it takes a lot of courage to ask for help.