1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Fear of permanent damage

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by GODUCKSjr, Aug 7, 2021.

1. GODUCKSjr

GODUCKSjr Newcomer

Hey all,

I’m fairly new to the TMS approach and am still trying to wrap my head around all of it so bare with me. I actually heard about it thru a podcast called hypochondriactor and the physician asked the host “have you heard of the work of John Sarno?” So I googled him. I listened to the mind body prescription in 2 days and then healing back pain twice over the next few days.

I’m a massive skeptic of all things, but I totally saw myself in everything he spoke of. PERFECTIONIST, GOODIST, anxious, angry. The one thing I’m really having a hard time with is that I don’t know how to get over my anxiety of this never ending pandemic and the fear of reinjury. On to that portion…

So I work for a university and last April, we were required to all stay home for 6 weeks while the pandemic was getting out of hand. I’m an electrician and am used to a physical job. Now I was doing trainings and prep work for projects and on a computer all day. When we finally went back to work within a few days I started getting agonizing mid back pain.

Ive been injured more times than I can count and figured this was just the usual, be gone in a little bit injury. It wasn’t. After 2 months I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with a mild tear in my erector on one side. So off to physical therapy I went. This is where it unraveled.