1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Dystonia or TMS, or both?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by dempsey12, Apr 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. dempsey12

dempsey12 Newcomer

Hello all. I am new to this forum. I have never heard of TMS. A little over a year ago I started experiencing issues with my right/dominant hand. Specifically, my middle fingers would involuntarily try to extend whenever I was typing. I am an attorney, so I type daily. My issues were limited to my right hand during typing. Shortly thereafter, I was diagnosed with focal hand dystonia. The strange thing is that as I joined several dystonia groups and forums, it seemed as if my symptoms were somewhat different. Most people with dystonia get involuntary spasms or fixed postures, and there localized to one area. Specifically, those with hand dystonia typically get a clenched fist. I've never experienced that.