1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Driving. Resistant fears/phobias

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by LittleWildflower, Feb 4, 2023.

1. LittleWildflower

LittleWildflower New Member

Any advice on how to overcome resistant fears/phobias?

I’ve been driving daily for many years now. I am a competent and capable driver on the road and despite how I feel, I drive confidently. I can drive big cars, park in teeny tiny spaces with everyone watching, have no skill issues, I’ll go fast/slow, but wary of ice/snow but I’ll give it a go, never been in an accident, no points on my licence, never even had a parking ticket…. But… still absolutely terrified of it. Or at least my body reacts in a way like I’m about to die. Especially when driving a new route or out of routine, I will physically shake from adrenaline, often for hours after reaching my destination. I get a dry mouth, hyper focus, feel dizzy, hot, heart rate through the roof, sweating etc. If it’s a route I know I will eventually relax but at no point have I EVER felt comfortable driving. My big trigger is driving to new places. Even with sat nav. I’m ok driving long distances or along dangerous roads as long as I know the route. Bur new places absolutely terrify me. If I think about it too much I can’t even get in the car sometimes. I used to be afraid of driving in the dark too but that never made sense as I actually learned how to drive in the dark and even preferred it. But for years I was suddenly petrified and then the last year it’s suddenly just gone. Don’t mind driving in the dark anymore. Don’t even notice! How? I don’t know. It’s just crazy!!