1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day One

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Nikki K, Oct 19, 2015.

1. Nikki K

Nikki K Newcomer

I've actually been practicing (very loosely) Dr. Sarno's principles for the last two months or so and have had an unbelievable improvement in my middle-back and neck pain. I promised myself that once the beginning of the school year was over with (I'm a teacher) I would commit to completing this program, as I know I'm not 100% healed yet. I have pain pop up in various areas around my back and neck. But now, when they do, they don't last long and I can control my fear about them.

However, I know that at times I still let the fear of a total relapse slip into my mind and the anxiety tries to set in.

So here we go: Day One post.
    For me, not having TMS would mean finding confidence again. Although, sometimes I'm not sure if I ever really had it.

Right now, even though I'm feeling 80% better, I'm still struggling with believing that this year I'll be able to garden again, cook for however many hours I desire or go for a jog. So, not having TMS would mean not even thinking about the possibility of NOT doing those things and just confidently choosing the activities I wish to engage in at any given moment.

2. mike2014

mike2014 Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi Nikki,

Welcome to the Forum. It's great that you joined us.

It's great that you've found the work of Dr Sarno and have managed to reach 80%, that's a tremendous success and you shouldn't dismiss it.

I've noticed from your post that although you've made significant improvements you are still still stuck in the very cycle that brings you pain, that being fear, anxiety, worry etc.