1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 8

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Thaxter, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Thaxter

Thaxter New Member

It's day 8, and I'm doing better, but I did suffer a setback today. Lots of stress surrounding my job. I did so well throughout the day. I tracked my time and stayed within budget and was able to make good progress. Despite all that, I felt some back pain at the end of the day.

I think it's due to the frustration I feel about not having enough time alloted to complete the tasks assigned to me, and because I am still learning. I'm a perfectionist, and learning brand new processes is difficult for me because I don't want to make mistakes. Yet I am still making mistakes. I also feel resentment about this new job because I didn't realize it was structured such that I would need to carefully track all my time.

As for the pain in my back, I know it is temporary, and will pass. I took an Advil and am going to read Dr. Sarno in bed tonight after I finish my journaling exercises. I feel I am starting to release some emotional detritis that has accumulated inside me for many years and even cried some this weekend. This was good.

I think my biggest frustration is that I can be happy, productive, cheerful, throughout the day, yet at the end of the day, pain sets in. It has happened with my hands and now my back. I feel that even though I am making an effort to stay focused and upbeat, my body keeps sabotaging me! If anyone has insight into why this happening, I'd love to hear feedback. Thanks!
    Thaxter

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle