1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 8 --- Emotions connected to pain

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by quasar731, May 23, 2012.

1. quasar731

quasar731 Well known member

I hope I won't get you tired of my postings!:( I just finished writing a 'dear.......' letter. The exercise prescribed for day 8.

There is a question asked about having success at recognizing the emotions connected to pain. At the time when I am experiencing pain, I do self-talk in order to minimize its impact. Sometimes I remind myself, aha! this is a TMS visit. Sometimes depending on how severe the pain is, it does not click immediately as a TMS strike. It is only with the wisdom of hindsight that I am able to go..."ahh! that is why this part of that part was hurting". Maybe because I am still new at it I do not have that awareness developed yet.

An example of this awareness delay happened today when I sat to do the program and write the 'dear' letter. Granted that it was a tough exercise which dreaded! Low and behold, my right arm inside the bicep and shoulder hurt like mad. I went ouuuch!:eek: it was sharp. Nevertheless I started writing and in a little while Bingo! I thought came to my mind that the pain was simply to stop me writing ;). And the pain dissipated. It was an aha! moment.

Frankly sometimes I feel assaulted :confused:. You have to give it to the mind, it is like having a Gollum inside (from The Lord of the Rings), one never knows when the thing is going to strike, where and how (sigh:rolleyes:) .

To our health!

veronica73 likes this.
  2. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle