1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 37 - How to do self care

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by jml19, Nov 18, 2017.

1. jml19

jml19 Peer Supporter

Today's lesson talked about self care. I got to thinking about having "fun" and made a very very long list of all the fun things I did when I was growing up. There were at least 25 different activities. When I made my current list of fun things, I could only think of two: sewing and going out to eat with friends. The sewing is usually for somebody else and going out with friends is a group thing. I also like to read fiction and color, but never take the time to do either.

My husband and I raised four children who are all married now with babies of their own. I was a Sunday school teacher for kids, home-schooled our kids through high school, was a group support leader, team mom more than once, helper in the Scout troop, and on and on it goes. My life revolved around our kids and getting their needs met. While I LOVED being with them and raising them and everything I did was what I chose to do (nobody made me do it), I realize now that I rarely did anything fun for over 30 years just for myself. I am seriously out of practice and at this point and at 65 years old, I don't even know where to start.

Ellen and plum like this.
  2. plum

plum Beloved Grand Eagle

Let your heart dream. Liberate your imagination. Is there anything from the list of fun things from the past that you can reclaim or reinvigorate?

3. jml19

jml19 Peer Supporter