1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 25: Prying Open Repressed Emotions

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by shirleypm, Mar 20, 2015.

1. shirleypm

shirleypm New Member

Those of you who read my previous post know that I've felt "stuck." There are two big reasons, not wanting to face some very strong emotions, and also a level of impatience that I'm more mindful of.

The other day, I was spider writing about my fears for a business I'm trying to build, and I experienced a wave of strong emotions. I was at my daughters' swim practice, so I took my laptop and went to my van. I was furious with myself, bewildered with feelings of sadness, and yes, intense rage. The ugly crying came out.

If I stand back as a yoga teacher, I see that I'm harshly judging myself. Part of me truly knows that, but the child who was told for years to "just deal with it" is trying to come out. This is quite ironic, seeing I come from a rather emotionally flamboyant Italian American family. Our family culture has always been about open expressions, physical expressions with our arms, faces, hands. And yet, I'm now aware that the serious feelings are usually hidden behind that illusion of expression.

I'm not sure where I am in this program, to be honest, but I'm determined to keep going, even if it hasn't been as regular as the inner perfectionist in me wants it to be. The inner yogini says, "be gentle on yourself." I'm getting back on the wagon. The physical pain is still there, but I am pleased to say that it hasn't gotten worse since I resumed my activities and removed my knee brace and SI support belt.