1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 25 Day 25 Progress Report

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by KJFliving, Jan 16, 2017.

1. KJFliving

KJFliving New Member

Overall, I am thrilled with my progress. I started my TMS treatment (before starting this specific program) back around the beginning of November. During that span, I have gone from:

- Pain prevented me from sleeping more than 3 hours straight
    - Symptoms prevented me from playing drums, which is part of what I do for a living
    - Daily max anti-flammatory meds
    - Nerve blocker 3 x a day
    - Daily muscle relaxers
    - Endless dr. appointments, therapy, massage, buying "stuff", etc with no relief from ANY of it.

And now...

- I sleep through the night w/o pain
    - I CAN play drums, albeit tentatively and still with pain
    - I take NO MEDICATIONS for my pain or symptoms.
    - The only medical appointments I have are my weekly sessions with a Psychiatrist

There's really only one big elephant in the room at this point, and it still revolves around playing drums. The activity is so utterly high impact that I feel VERY tentative when I do it still, I still fear risking injury, I still feel fear in scheduling future gigs because I worry my improvement won't continue or will get worse from playing.

I don't have a true diagnosis from a Dr... I haven't been able to find a Dr. near Portland (Oregon) that deals with TMS, so I always have it in the back of my mind that I might be wrong. And that its possible that "time" is what is really the thing helping my symptoms. But having read all three Sarno books multiple times, having tried traditional medicine with no relief, and seeing myself fitting EXACTLY with the traits and history of someone with TMS, at worst...TMS is a "logical" conclusion.