1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 2 Day 2

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Guseman, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Guseman

Guseman Peer Supporter

Reading Kim Ruby's article today was a great reinforcement for me to remember that TMS really is emotionally caused. It made me think back to a lot of the pain bouts I've had over the past several years. From 2009-2014 I was a PhD student in Biology, an incredibly stressful position that is full of chances to feel inferior. Through that time I dealt with plenty of IBS (usually how I recognize stress affecting me), but also had a couple 3-4 month periods of terrible back pain. One came on very suddenly, as I've seen described a lot here, and the other more gradually started as I was getting ready to defend my thesis. Also during this time I had a few bouts of dizziness and TMJ, as well as plantar fasciitis for several months. It all really seems to fit the pattern, but I never would have thought that most of those could be emotionally cause.