1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 10 Day 10 Question to Ponder

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by LindaRK, Feb 15, 2014.

1. LindaRK

LindaRK Well known member

Think of a person in your life from whom you hide your emotions. What is preventing you from telling this person how you feel?

Well, what an easy question .... most everybody, except for my husband, occasionally. I'm a pro at feeling those nasty emotions coming to the surface and immediately squashing them down. Decades of practice, I guess. I think this will be the most difficult area of my life to change. Expressing myself. I do share my feelings on occasion with my husband - but, many times, I feel bad because he's the only one I do share with and I feel like maybe I put him on overload. I mean, a person can only handle so much. Beyond him, I really have no one that I feel completely comfortable sharing with .... plus, I tend to be more of the listener (taking it all in, especially everyone else's problems). I've felt that no one really care to listen to my problems. Of course, it's not like I shared them with many people, so who really knows. It's just the way I feel. Hoping to overcome this!

2. mousemom

mousemom Peer Supporter

Share your feelings here on this forum. That's why we are here, to listen. We all understand what you are going through. I have come out of my shell now & have shared with my whole family my struggles & that I will need their understanding. I don't hide that I meet with a therapist now & I take time for myself now to heal. My husband has been my rock & sounding board too but I know he understands that I trust him & need to vent about some deep feelings. He said that it has helped him too come more present with his own feelings. You're doing great & just post here those thoughts or feelings when you want to. Take care!!