1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1....

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by MissShamrocks, Oct 6, 2014.

1. MissShamrocks

MissShamrocks Peer Supporter

Hi everyone, newbie here!

I have been suffering for almost two years with a pelvic pain condition called "Pudendal Neuralgia." It has taken it's toll not only with the pain but of course mentally, emotionally and spiritually. I've had suicidal thoughts a few times of these 2 years, running from Dr to Dr, physical therapists, pain management, pills, blocks, MRI's, xrays, you name it, I've done it and I have a feeling you can ALL relate to this!

The pain started for me a few months after a very bad/traumatic breakup and I never really put two and two together because, well...we all learned pain mean't something was physically wrong. It wasn't until I listened to Dr. Sarno's "Healing back pain" and speaking to my PT about mind/body that it even dawned on me and it's hit me like a ton of bricks! I'm nervous, excited, and still maybe a little weary that it's 50% TMS and 50% structural (i.e. SI joint arthritis, and a rotated pelvis). I see my PT tomorrow and am going to discuss my findings. I know she loves Sarno, so I don't think she's going to turn her nose up at this.

I'm not quite sure if I should make an appointment with Dr. Schechter here in L.A. for confirmation, or just start on this program that is laid out here? Maybe some of you can guide me in which direction to go? He does not take my insurance, and is a bit pricey. I'd be willing to spend the money if I knew where to start.