1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by jhs10982, May 28, 2014.

1. jhs10982

jhs10982 Newcomer

My story is probably not unique but here it goes! I first experienced a crippling back pain in 2009. I am an exercise instructor in my spare time and on a Saturday morning I was teaching a tough boot camp-style class. I jumped up, landed, and WHAM! I felt something horrid in my lower back. And I was only 20 minutes into a 60 minute class. With very little choice, I kept teaching and (somehow) made it through. When I came home I took a nap, thinking the rest would help relieve my pain. To my horror when I woke up I couldn't move. I was…just…stuck! I somehow crawled to my phone and called a friend. She recommended acupuncture and I called to get an appointment. To my great relief, the acupuncture was a big help and I was able to move again. I had a few small bouts of pain about once a year and faithfully went to the acupuncturist each time.

I seemed to be doing fine, but was nevertheless lucky to run into a friend who heard about my infrequent bouts with back pain. She gave me a copy of Dr. Sarno's book, Healing Back Pain. It sat on my shelf for a long time. I finally picked it up when another episode came on and I was instantly converted. TMS. Yup, I had that. It was like Dr. Sarno was speaking about me. So many of his examples were just like my own experiences and the personality traits were spot on. I was able to "be cured" for many years just by reading the book. It was great.