1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S. (New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. Bonnard is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by MichaelDaw, Jul 23, 2012.

1. MichaelDaw

MichaelDaw New Member

I'm just beginning the structured programme. Up until last Friday, I hadn't heard of TMS or Dr Sarno.

Since around February, I've gradually been developing nerve pains in my arms and hands. They started out mild and non-specific in my right arm only but have become more severe, more specific and in both arms over the last 5 months or so. They are definitely related to typing - the more I type, the more they hurt. Also, typing on a laptop makes them worse than typing at work. I've only recently begun to call the pain RSI.

I've been to a sports physiotherapist who sorted out a kind-of-similar problem with the nerve in my right elbow two years ago with a funny exercise that made me look like I was doing an impression of an ancient Egyptian (check out The Bangles!). But she was baffled by this one so I stopped going after a few weeks. I've been through the NHS system: get referred by your GP, wait 6 weeks, see a consultant, get referred for a nerve conduction test, wait 6 weeks, have a painful test, wait 6 weeks, see the consultant again who says, "Good news! There's nothing wrong with you." Well fine, but why does it hurt so much then?