1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 Day 1 - Pain on the right side of my body

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Plz568, Oct 24, 2016.

1. Plz568

Plz568 Peer Supporter

Hi, I have been working on my TMS for about 3 weeks but decided to participate in the forum because I want to be guided. I am a 51 year old female, mom of two boys, wife of a wonderful husband. I've been teaching yoga part time for 10 years.

My hip pain started in May when I was thinking about my parents coming to visit. My husband and I were doing house projects that needed to be done - preparations for visitors. I have to say my parents cause me so much stress. I had a very dysfunctional childhood/young adulthood. We were "the perfect" family from the outside, but there was abuse (physical, emotional, verbal) by both my parents especially my dad. I was the middle child and never fit in, never wanted to. I could not speak up and had to follow the directions of my parents expectations - activities, friends, even where I had to go to college. They took care of our physical needs but there was absolutely no emotional connection. Each and every time I see my dad he repeats the same thing, "your mom wanted kids, I didn't - kids are a pain in the ass." Anyway, I finally moved away after meeting my husband. I was in therapy for 10 years prior and had a successful HR career but when we met, we wanted to move and build a new life.