1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

day 1 forearm pain

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by amarie133, Apr 15, 2015.

1. amarie133

amarie133 Peer Supporter

I started out having wrist and forearm pain about two months ago. I work as a massage therapist so I'm giving this TMS thing a shot. I'm not a stranger to psychosomatic pain. Im currently 34, in my mid 20's I struggled with shoulder, ankle and wrist pain that the Dr.s could not diagnose. I also had a chronic sore throat for two years that could not be diagnosed. I've also struggled with overeating most of my life.
    Growing up, my parents never talked about anything. There was a lot of tension in the house, nothing abusive, but definitely non-communicative and not very loving. So I learned to stuff everything.
    With my previous history, I'm totally open to the TMS diagnosis. I went to the Dr. for my forearm pain 4x's now. The first Dr. called it myofascial pain and the 2nd ordered an mri which i'm waiting for. When I've taken pain killers or have gotten acupuncture, I've noticed the pain can move to other locations and my other arm. When I touch the area I feel the pain, it is not tender. At times it has felt very slightly swollen but other than that it does not feel physical. Just when I move my arm there is pain. I notice the pain also increases with my anxiety level, and I've been able to reason and talk the pain away at times. But for now i'm out of work for 2 months because of the pain and have had my wrist braced. The pain flairs up when I work on people doing massage. My anxiety level about this is high because of the loss of work and money, and just getting started with my career in the healing arts field. I think about it constantly (like my previous bouts of pain in m 20's). It becomes all consuming.