1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

COMPUTER HELP

Discussion in 'Community Off Topic' started by Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021), Aug 2, 2015.

1. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I am an author and need to retype entire books I have written that are not on my PC.
    Has anyone tried a voice recognition device that you read text into and it types it on the computer?

I've read that the best-selling one is Dragon Naturally-Speaking Home 1.3.
    Anyone tried that or have any other suggestions?

Thanks.

Walt Oleksy
    waltmax69@gmail.com

2. Ellen

Ellen Beloved Grand Eagle

How about scanning them and converting the scanned images to Word?

3. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Thanks, dear Ellen. I tried that. I scanned a page of my book and it came up but very large. When I tried to resize
    it to 8x10 it looked okay but would not copy so I could save it as a Word document. It also did not look as sharp as I wanted,
    in Times New Roman 12 point.

Can you email me at waltmax69@gmail.com ? Thanks.

4. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle

The thing that will allow you to copy the text after you scan it is called "Optical Character Recognition" or OCR. A bunch of programs can do OCR, but they can be very hard to use, so you'd want to get someone's help who is very patient. Otherwise, you might try Dragon Naturallyspeaking. It requires a good microphone and a fast computer, though, and you'll need someone to help set you up as it can be hard to set up as well (though not as hard as OCR). Here's a link to a good version of NaturallySpeaking:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LX4BZAQ/

5. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Thanks, Forest. I've read that the best voice recognition system is the one you mention. I could get it for about $50.
    Some say it's easy to set up and work, but others say it's hard to.