1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Caffeine and TMS

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Warrior21, Oct 7, 2015.

1. Warrior21

Warrior21 Newcomer

Hello everyone! I have a quick question about whether or not you guys think caffeine would worsen symptoms of TMS. Caffeine does not increase my anxiety or disrupt my sleep, but I know caffeine is a stimulant and our goal here is to calm the mind and the nervous system right? So where does caffeine fit into this? I know TMS involves the nervous system, but I am still learning about TMS and it's fairly new to me. Forgive me if this a weird question! I just am unsure if giving up my morning coffee will help with TMS or not be a factor.

2. angelic333

angelic333 Peer Supporter

Giving up coffee is never a bad thing.

It's easy, I've done it a thousand times...lol

Honestly, I think a clean diet can only help. Again, be careful about blaming symptoms in external things, BUT, a good clean diet goes a long way towards health in general.

mike2014 likes this.
  3. nowtimecoach

nowtimecoach Well known member

I think it completely depends on the individual. I have friends who can drink coffee all day long and not be affected. For me, I have to limit myself to one cup a day or I'm a nervous uptight wreck! But as you learn more about TMS - you'll get to know your body and sensitivities on a deeper level and you'll just know what the right thing to do is.

Ellen and mike2014 like this.
  4. mike2014

mike2014 Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi Warrior,