1. Our TMS drop-in chat is today (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM DST Eastern U.S.(New York). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support. JanAtheCPA is today's host. Click here for more info or just look for the red flag on the menu bar at 3pm Eastern.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Befriending doubt

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by veronica73, Apr 20, 2012.

1. veronica73

veronica73 Well known member

I really like this quote by poet Edward Field:

"Of course I have doubt. I invite her over for dinner and then I send her on her way. I've befriended her. If I'm an artist living an artist's life, doing these things, then of course I will be visited by doubt. If not, there would be something wrong. She's my recurring house guest."

I like the idea that doubt will always be part of life & the human condition, but that we can allow it in for a while and then usher it out the door without having it move in with us.

Enrique and Forest like this.
  2. Forest

Forest Beloved Grand Eagle

I really liked this quote. Thanks for posting it. As you mentioned doubt is part of the human condition. In terms of TMS, I think it is important to understand that at the beginning some doubt may be present. However, it is important to do find a way to overcome it.