1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Any advice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by patty9, Dec 22, 2020.

1. patty9

patty9 New Member

I've been on my recovery process for about three and a half months, and almost all of my symptoms are completely gone and the rest are greatly reduced.

However, somebody in my life that has been abusive is staying at my family's home (I'm a college student living at home during the pandemic). I feel a tremendous amount of anger towards this person. Within 12 hours of this person arriving at my family's home, I started feeling pain in my back, and it's gotten even stronger in the 2 days later.

I'm absolutely convinced the pain and this person's arrival are linked. I've been practicing mindfulness a lot and I notice a lot of anger coming up.

Anyway, in the Mind body prescription, Sarno suggests that when you figure out what is making you angry the pain usually goes away. But I think I know what is behind the pain. So why does the pain continue?

Do I just need to be more patient? Any other practical tips would be appreciated as well.

2. Andy Bayliss

Andy Bayliss TMS Coach & Beloved Grand Eagle

Hi patty9,

First, it is great that you've recovered, and, perhaps ironically, I see it as good that you're correlating the emotional field you're in with symptom changes.