1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Advice needed on yoga

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by veronica73, Jul 27, 2012.

1. veronica73

veronica73 Well known member

Any other yogis/yoginis here? I have been doing yoga on and off since 1997. I haven't been doing yoga since I started working on TMS in January. I would like to get back to it because I love the poses, the breathing, the mindfulness, and the yoga community. I'm just worried because most yoga classes seem to put a heavy emphasis on asana (the poses), how they can help your back, etc. In fact, one class I used to go to a lot, the teacher starts every class by asking students what they want to work on and most people get into a laundry list of physical ailments--most of which are very TMSy.

I'm not sure how to tune out the over-emphasis on the physical in yoga classes. Anyone else run into this issue? How did you deal with it?

Namaste,
    Veronica

2. Lori

Lori Well known member

I totally ignore the comments the instructor makes about back pain, who has this, who has that. Fortunately those in the class with me aren't complainers about ailments because I might catch myself eye-rolling! :rolleyes: If I had to hear about pose what helps this or that, I might just have to find another yoga class.

I am there for the exercise only. Not to help with any physical ailment. And it works out just fine! :)

3. Livvygurl

Livvygurl Well known member