1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Steve2 as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Acute back spasms won't stop

Discussion in 'Support Subforum' started by stayfit65, Aug 24, 2015.

1. stayfit65

stayfit65 Peer Supporter

Hi all,
    I thought I had TMS on the run when my back pain of 4 years starting waning and then was gone for a week, only to be replaced by hamstring pain and anxiety. But then that got better and now I keep having these terrible back spasms when I bend! I am a fitness instructor and I am thinking I'm going to have to quit because I can't trust my body any more! I am really feeling blue...I've taught fitness for 30 years and this is NOT what I want to do, but I also don't want to have a bad spasm in front of 25 people! Please help me--can anybody relate to these spasms and is it a good sign? I went to a TMS physician and they looked at MRI, did exam, etc. everything was considered to be normal but Why out of the blue does this keep happening? I guess I'm just looking for someone who's had these low back spasms that take your breath away and you got well from it. Thank you.

2. Ryan

Ryan Well known member

You will be alright, especially if you have been cleared by a doctor. It seems you are scaring yourself about losing your job, your stuck on the fear cycle. Your body is strong, it's just the phase your in. Accept the pain and move on, keep living life.

As the great doctor said if one is preoccupied with the body the symptoms will persists. Shift your focus, you will come out of this a warrier. We are what we believe.

Ryan

3. stayfit65

stayfit65 Peer Supporter