1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with Bonnard as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Day 1 acceptance level, doubts & fears

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Timothy007ish, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Timothy007ish

Timothy007ish New Member

Having had some success with TMS recovery in the past I would say that my acceptance level of the diagnosis is good. In fact I'm sure TMS is the only reasonable explanation for my symptoms.

My background is one of childhood sexual abuse and I have had great difficulty learning how to simply talk about it. Feeling the feelings and processing them has been next to impossible. My feelings feel like they are bigger than me and could possibly consume me if I 'let go'.

Obviously this is my greatest source of doubt and fear. Doubt that I will have the courage to face the feelings and fear that if I do I'll be overwhelmed.

2. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

I think an emphasis on feeling what causes emotions to give us pain is not really necessary. It can keep us too focused on the emotion. For me, it was just discovering that I was repressing some emotions since I was seven and my parents divorced. I don't think you have to go back and feel your emotions when you were sexually abused as a child. Just tell yourself that is the main thing troubling you, and your subconscious will get it.
    Dr, Sarno says we don't have to solve any emotional problem... just discover it. Believing in TMS is enough to heal. Try now to get on with your life... one day at a time... live in the present, not the past.

3. Timothy007ish

Timothy007ish New Member