1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Abandonment issues and TMS

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Jules, Apr 6, 2017.

1. Jules

Jules Well known member

I had quite a breakthrough with my therapist today that I wanted to share with you all. As you know I have been doing with TMS for the last 20+ years, and never understanding why or what triggered it. Today, in therapy, I talked about my youngest daughter wanting to move out of the house for good, not just for college two hours away. I realized that all of my kids have abandoned me, and all within three years of each other. I also realize that being an empty-nester has its own trauma associated with abandonment.

As a child, I was in foster care for a while because my mother had a nervous break down. My father had a horrible accident when I was three months old, and for a few years afterwards, he either was afraid of picking us up or us climbing on top of him, or he couldn't, due to horrific injuries. So of course, I attached to my mom, even though she wasn't in a healthy place to really emotionally care for me.