1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Thoughts and fears causing a flare

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by readytoheal, Oct 2, 2017.

1. readytoheal

readytoheal Peer Supporter

It seems to me that my thoughts and fears frequently trigger symptoms. Today I had a migraine with aura. The aura part freaks me out. I was so afraid it would come back once it went away that today it did. If I’m afraid something will cause a flare, it does. It makes me feel as if my mind is my worst enemy and I begin fearing my fears/thoughts because they create symptoms. Any insight into how to overcome this cycle? Makes me feel like I’m going crazy.

2. moon123

moon123 New Member

I can definitely relate to this, and I'm so sorry to hear you went through this last night. I wish I had great advice to offer but I'm pretty new to navigating it and haven't been able to develop a reliable approach yet. But one thing I've been trying to do is to focus on the idea of "outcome independence." I forget where the article is, but basically it's the idea that success isn't defined by being pain free, it's defined by your attitude in facing the pain. That helps me somewhat, especially in terms of staying physically active despite the pain, and feeling proud of that. It's hard not to be outcome focused though, because of course we all want to be pain free! Another thing that helps me sometimes is focusing on the moment, like noticing my breathing and really taking in the sights and sounds around me. It's harder for me to get caught up in the fear when I'm doing that. I hope you've had a less stressful day today.

TheWayBackUp and readytoheal like this.
  3. jml19

jml19 Peer Supporter