1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Insensitivity to pain meds?

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by hawaii_five0, Mar 16, 2021.

1. hawaii_five0

hawaii_five0 Well known member

I am somewhat new to the TMS world. I absolutely agree that x % of a person's pain and discomfort can be caused by mind/body interaction, and probably no one would disagree with that. In my case I don't think x is 100%, but it's still probably a pretty high number. I have a structural issue in my lower back/pelvis/SI joint (there is literally an audible clicking/grinding noise and sensation). Have been to several docs, had an MRI, been to PT, continue to go. But the pain increases basically in correlation with the amount I stress about it (4 months ago it was painless, was only after researching it endlessly that it became painful). I tried to limit any meds, and take OTC only, and even that just sparingly, but last week the doc said go ahead and take 2 Aleve every day to potentially bring down inflammation. So I have done that for a week, but that has had exactly zero effect on the discomfort. I'm wondering if this apparent insensitivity to OTC pain meds is more a sign that it is basically my brain generating the pain. Wondering if anyone else has had this experience in their journey, basically pain meds not working. At least OTC.

2. Ellen

Ellen Beloved Grand Eagle