1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Hello

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by chrisami, Feb 19, 2014.

1. chrisami

chrisami New Member

Hello,

I am halfway through reading The Mindbody Prescription and have just completed the Day 1 activities. The 20/20 video featured here is very well done and has positively convinced me of my TMS diagnosis.

Funnily enough I am a researcher in the field of biomechanics and blood circulation. Being an engineer by education I have a very "structural" and "mechanical" view of the body. While you might think this to be a disadvantage in the case of TMS, I feel that it may have helped: When I started having forearm muscle pain and spasms, finger numbness and tingling, and (what I can only describe as) "slow", cold, fingers - a little research and I had immediately concluded it was carpal tunnel syndrome. I got some stretches and management techniques from the internet, but it was clear after several weeks of worsening symptoms that these had failed. I consulted my doctor, an began conventional therapy of wearing a wrist splint and taking ibuprofen. I even manually rubbed ibuprofen gel into the wrist at regular intervals during the day. Again this did not work and I eventually consulted an osteopath and a massage therapist. The physical therapies helped a bit, most notably the massage - after my first massage appointment I thought I had been cured! However this only lasted a day or two... I am certain this was because of temporary increased bloodflow to the region as Dr Sarno describes.