1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 1 Young and hopeful

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by Zre224, Apr 3, 2017.

1. Zre224

Zre224 Newcomer

I'm a little nervous to post but I've tried so many other potential forms of relief and I think maybe hearing more people talk realistically about their issues will help. I want to read things I can relate to, as anyone on this form does. I guess I'm nervous because I haven't found many similar stories to mine on the thread, however, I am still learning to navigate this site. I am 25 years old and I was diagnosed with anxiety and panic disorder at 19. Never had any significant traumatic incidents happen in my life. My parents have been together for over 40 years happily married. (Mom had me at 40) all of my family is alive and well. Never lost anyone close to me, And I don't necessarily experience back and neck pain. My anxiety and panic causes me to feel very off balance a lot. Feels like my knees are out of socket. I lean against counters and walls a lot to stabilize. I used to experience numbness in my arms often and always just felt out of body experiences. My therapist later told me they were called Depersonalizations. Relieving to hear there was a name for my crazy. Life stopped feeling real after my first panic attack. I got the runaround from several doctors. On Prozac for 3 years when I wasn't even depressed.. Just a lot of panic all the time. She diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia at age 20! I was so young, how could this be me? All my friends had never heard of anything like it. I refused the medication for fibromyalgia. The Prozac already made me pretty vegetative. I was seeking alternative treatment so I saw an acupuncturist for a year. Did nothing. Went to physical therapy for my knees, using a special technique called "fascial counterstrain" my scalp was rubbed and m