1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Our TMS drop-in chat is tomorrow (Saturday) from 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM Eastern (***NOTE*** now on US Daylight Time). It's a great way to get quick and interactive peer support, with JanAtheCPA as your host. Look for the red Chat flag on top of the menu bar!

Yoga Exercises for Back Pain

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021), Sep 23, 2013.

1. Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021)

Walt Oleksy (RIP 2021) Beloved Grand Eagle

Yoga exercises for back pain

I found this online and thought it could be something to consider. Yoga can be hard because if we’re in pain, how can we contort our body into a pretzel? But these exercises look easier.

I’m not a doctor or physical therapist, just a fellow TMS guy who has tried to find some exercises to strengthen the back. These look good, but be careful about trying them and maybe ask your doctor before you begin.

Multiple studies have shown the power of the ancient practice of yoga which emphasizes stretching, strength, and flexibility, to relieve back soreness. In fact, several studies have found that yoga can even trump usual care for back pain when it comes to improving back function.

People who took yoga or stretching classes are twice as likely to cut back on pain medications for their back aches as people who managed symptoms on their own, one University of Washington study found.

While yoga isn't a good idea if you have severe pain, those with occasional soreness or chronic aches may greatly benefit from certain postures that can help lengthen your spine, stretch and strengthen your muscles, and return your back to its proper alignment, says Everyday Health fitness expert Jennifer Bayliss, ATC, CSCS. (You'll reap these other health perks of yoga too.)