1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Day 22 What to do when I'm at work?

Discussion in 'Structured Educational Program' started by gailnyc, Feb 5, 2013.

1. gailnyc

gailnyc Well known member

So, I have definitely been successful at home, reminding myself that the pain I feel is "fake" and tuning into my emotions, etc. My foot pain when I am at home is minimal. I am having absolutely no pain walking around barefoot, something I was scared to do just a month ago.

However, work is a different story. I am a high school teacher, so for five 41-minute periods I am teaching and managing my classroom. Because I stand a lot during class, I am constantly aware of how my foot is feeling. Constantly. It is like a constant subroutine running in my brain. But I'm not really sure of what to do because I can't really think of other things during class. I need to focus on the lesson and on my students.

I was thinking that maybe I could do something in between classes and during prep periods, but I'm not sure what. Something simple and non-emotional because I don't want to burst into tears every day at school.

Suggestions?

2. Stella

Stella Well known member

Why is your foot pain worse at school? Which of your TMS personality traits are being activated?

3. gailnyc

My first response is to say that at school I wear shoes and have to stand a lot, at home I don't.
    But I realize that is "thinking physical."