1. Alan has completed the new Pain Recovery Program. To read or share it, use this updated link: https://www.tmswiki.org/forum/painrecovery/
    Dismiss Notice

Want my life back, new beginning?

Discussion in 'General Discussion Subforum' started by JoPale93, Apr 25, 2021.

1. JoPale93

JoPale93 New Member

Hey everyone! My name is Joey. I am 28 years young.

For as long as I can remember (I can remember lol) (11 years) I’ve had pain in my neck. Specifically the left anterior side. (Scalene, SCM muscle). It started then, around the age of 17-18, as I graduated high school and began my college life. At the time, I had been working out for a good 6 months and it was the first time-in a long time, I felt good about myself and my appearance. It was an outlet for me, I was always shy about my height (I’m shorter) and as I started to gain muscle and shape my body, I felt good about myself in my own skin.

Well, neck pain lead to shoulder blade pain, shoulder blade pain lead to, shoulder pain and shoulder pain lead to numbness and tingling down the side of the same arm. Around the time my neck and shoulder hurt, I started my journey:

I saw chiropractors, massage therapists, acupuncturists, Chinese and medical grade, I saw nutritionists, I saw sports medicine, I tried ART/shockwave/graston/manipulation/traction, personal training, yoga, physical therapy, rolfing, meditating, posture assessment therapy and nothing “fixed it” - I would go as far as to say nothing even made it better. It was not UNBEARABLE, but it definitely caused me weakness, distress, anger, frustration, and normal daily things were a hassle for me.

I continued with this pain and kept working out in spite of what I felt, while getting weekly adjustments and massages to keep things (at bay). At this time I’m roughly 24-25 still with the neck / shoulder / arm pain. I was told many things:

- forward head posture
    - winged scapula
    -rounded shoulder
    -weak core